Journal of Belarusian Studies

Editor-in-Chief: Yarik Kryvoi
Established in 1965, the Journal of Belarusian Studies is the oldest English-language scholarly periodical on Belarusian studies in the world. It aims to promote interdisciplinary exchange between scholars in all major fields of Belarusian studies. The substantive focus of the peer-reviewed journal is on Belarusian society, particularly on societal and cultural change. The Journal invites submissions of articles and book reviews in all fields of Belarusian studies, including articles on Belarusian literature, linguistics, foreign relations, civil society, history and art, as well as book reviews. The journal is indexed by SCOPUS, EBSCO, ERIH PLUS, Google Scholar and other major databases.

EBSCO Humanities Source
Google Scholar
Online submission: Articles for publication in The Journal of Belarusian Studies can be submitted online through Editorial Manager. To submit an article, click here.

For more details on online submission, please visit our EM Support page.
Download Author Instructions (PDF)
In 1965 the Anglo-Belarusian Society began publishing a yearbook - The Journal of Byelorussian Studies. Between 2013 and 2018, the Journal of Belarusian Studies (changed from 'Byelorussian' after Belarus received independence) was published in London by the Ostrogorski Centre in cooperation with the Anglo-Belarusian Society. Since 2019, the Journal is published by BRILL | Ferdinand Schöningh.

The Journal is distributed to universities, libraries and private subscribers in Europe, North America and other parts of the world. It publishes articles on Belarusian literature, linguistics, foreign relations, politics, civil society, history and art, as well as book reviews.

The Journal is the oldest English language double-blind peer-reviewed periodical on Belarusian studies. It is the only academic periodical about Belarus fully indexed by SCOPUS, EBSCO Humanities Source, and ERIH PLUS.

Yarik Kryvoi

Associate Editors
Paul Hansbury
Alena Marková

Academic Board
Jim Dingley, Anglo-Belarusian Society (UK)
Iryna Dubianetskaya, Belarusian Collegium (Belarus)
Andrej Kotljarchuk, Södertörn University (Sweden)
David Marples, University of Alberta (Canada)
Arnold McMillin, University College London, Emeritus Professor (UK)
Alastair Rabagliati, European Endowment for Democracy (Belgium)
Zakhar Shybeka, Tel-Aviv University (Israel)
Andrew Wilson, University College London (UK)
Curt Woolhiser, Brandeis University (USA)

Copy Editors
Stephen Hall
Eimear O’Casey
Aaron Ostrovsky
Peter Braga